Header Ads

  • Latest

    Google Will Now Auto-Delete Users Activity Data


    Google will now auto-delete your web and app activity data.


    Google introduced auto-delete controls, which give you the choice to have Google automatically and continuously delete your Location History, search, voice and YouTube activity data after 3 months or 18 months.

    Previously users can delete it manually.

    Sunday Pichai, CEO of Google said,  as we design our products, we focus on three important principles: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control.

    Here’s how it works?

    Starting today, the first time you turn on Location History—which is off by default—your auto-delete option will be set to 18 months by default. Web & App Activity auto-delete will also default to 18 months for new accounts.

    This means your activity data will be automatically and continuously deleted after 18 months, rather than kept until you choose to delete it. You can always turn these settings off or change your auto-delete option.

    If you’ve already had Location History and Web & App Activity turned on, we won’t be changing your settings. But we will actively remind you about the auto-delete controls through in-product notifications and emails, so you can choose the auto-delete setting that works for you.


    Privacy

    As always, we don’t sell your information to anyone, and we don’t use information in apps where you primarily store personal content—such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar and Photos—for advertising purposes, period, Pichai added.

    Protection Commission

    Google faces GDPR complaint over data protection.
    • In Feb 2020, Google’s location tracking finally under formal probe in Europe
    • In May 2020, Google sued by Arizona for tracking users’ locations in spite of settings

    No comments

    Post Bottom Ad

    ad728