Header Ads

  • Latest

    WhatsApp Will Introduce Multi-device Support And Disappearing Mode Features

    WhatsApp is one of the most popular social media platform. This instant messaging app is used by 2 billion users. WhatsApp can still only be used on a single smartphone at a time. 

    While it can be used both on a desktop/browser and a phone simultaneously, for this your smartphone must always be connected to the internet. 

    But Now, WhatsApp soon makes it possible. The messaging app will soon comes up with two new updates: Multi-device support and Disappearing mode.

    Multi-device Support

    Facebook chief executive Mark Zuckerberg confirmed to WABetaInfo, that multi-device support will be arriving on the instant messaging service “soon.” WhatsApp head Will Cathcart said users will be able to connect up to four devices to one account. The messaging firm is also working to introduce a dedicated WhatsApp app for the iPad, he said.

    “It’s been a big technical challenge to get all your messages and content to sync properly across devices even when your phone battery dies, but we’ve solved this and we’re looking forward to getting it out soon!” Zuckerberg said. 

    The Facebook-owned messaging app will still be end-to-end encrypted, Zuckerberg confirmed.

    Disappearing Mode

    WhatsApp introduced a seven-day message deletion timer last year under the name disappearing messages.

    The company wants to expand this feature and will add a disappearing mode, which will allow users to enforce disappearing messages across all of their WhatsApp chats. If a user selects disappearing mode, all their WhatsApp threads and conversations will be removed after a fixed period of time.

    Additionally, the platform plans to add a 'view once' feature that would enable users to share media such as photos and videos that could only be viewed once. It means, a photo or video will disappear from chat after the recipient has seen it. 

    “We’re also about to start rolling out ‘view once,’ so you can send content and have it disappear after the person sees it,” Zuckerberg said.


    No comments

    Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.